More MPS schools – 78 this year – honored for successfully reinforcing positive behavior

Up from 50 last year; schools using model to improve climate

MILWAUKEE – More MPS schools are being honored for successfully reinforcing positive behavior to improve school climate and reduce classroom disruption.

Seventy-eight MPS schools were just named Schools of Distinction or Schools of Merit, up from 50 the prior school year, by the Wisconsin PBIS (Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports) Network.  PBIS is a successful approach used around the country to improve school climate through the teaching, reinforcement, and support of positive behaviors.

Those 78 Milwaukee Public Schools winners represent about one-third of the 233 winners statewide.

“It is always exciting to see the hard work of school and district personnel recognized by the Wisconsin PBIS Network . It truly is a team effort,” said Dr. John Hill, MPS Student Services Coordinator-Program Specialist. “The fact that the number of schools recognized grew from 50 last year to 78 this year shows that MPS is committed to implementing and sustaining PBIS with fidelity to support all students.”

“Schools of Merit” are honored for successfully implementing PBIS including training staff, teaching students about the program and regularly meeting to examine data and evaluate the program’s success. “Schools of Distinction” are recognized for taking the effort further still – for successfully implementing PBIS for two or more years and actively engaging parents as part of the program, among other criteria.

MPS’ 41 Schools of Merit for 2012-13 are Audubon Technology and Communication Center Middle School, Audubon Technology and Communication Center High School, William George Bruce Elementary School, Clarke Street School, Community High School, Anna F. Doerfler Community School, Eighty-First Street School, Engleburg Elementary School, Fifty-Third Street School, Garland School, Alexander Hamilton High School, Hampton Elementary School, Hawley Environmental School, Hayes Bilingual School, O.W. Holmes School, Humboldt Park School, Keefe Avenue School, Byron Kilbourn Elementary School, Richard Kluge School, Maple Tree Elementary School, Maryland Avenue Montessori School, Ralph H. Metcalfe School, Morgandale School, North Division High School, Parkview Elementary School, Pierce Elementary School, James W. Riley Elementary School, River Trail School, Roosevelt Creative Arts Middle School, South Division High School, Southeastern Education Center, Gilbert Stuart Elementary School, Henry David Thoreau School, Transformation Learning Community, Transition High School, Victory School for the Gifted and Talented / Italian Immersion, Escuela Vieau, Harold S. Vincent High School, Washington High School of Information Technology, Wisconsin Conservatory of Lifelong Learning and Westside Academy.

MPS’ 37 Schools of Distinction for 2012-13 are: ALBA School, Academy of Accelerated Learning, Allen-Field Elementary School, Lloyd Barbee Montessori School, Lynde and Harry Bradley Trade and Technology School, William Cullen Bryant Elementary School, Luther Burbank School, A.E. Burdick School, Clement Avenue School, James Fennimore Cooper School, Jeremiah Curtin Leadership Academy, Ralph Waldo Emerson Elementary School, Fairview Charter School, Forest Home Avenue Elementary School, Frederick J. Gaenslen School, U.S. Grant School, Greenfield Bilingual School, Hartford University School, Lincoln Avenue Elementary School, H.W. Longfellow School, Lowell Elementary School, Manitoba School, Milwaukee French Immersion School, Milwaukee High School of the Arts, Milwaukee School of Languages, Milwaukee Spanish Immersion School, Alexander Mitchell Integrated Arts School, Ninety-Fifth Street School, Ronald Reagan College Preparatory High School , Riverside University High School, Rogers Street Academy, Siefert Elementary School, Thurston Woods Campus, Trowbridge School of Discovery and Technology, Wedgewood Park International School, Walt Whitman Elementary School and Clement J. Zablocki Elementary School.

Milwaukee Public Schools is Wisconsin’s largest school district, serving more than 78,000 students in more than 160 schools across the city. MPS is home to the Milwaukee region’s two best high schools according to the Washington Post and three of state’s 25 best high schools according to U.S. News and World Report. In the past year, Milwaukee Public Schools posted a growing graduation rate 14 points higher than the rate for 2000. More MPS news is available at